Back to Yogirama's Homepage

Nadis and Cakras

The practice of asana can be divided into various levels such as physical, physiological, organic, pranic, sensory and meditative. Similar levels can be established for pranayama as well as savasana. While such levels have some similarities in the practice of asana, pranayama and savasana, there are also significant variations. Both, the similarities as well as the differences help make the three practices deeper and more introspective.

As the practice deepens, the student is encouraged to incorporate the practice of mula bandha in all asanas and pranayamas. Uddiyana and jalandhara bandhas are also included in the practice of pranayama. With further maturity the subject of nadis and cakras is added to the practice.

The knowledge of the fourteen nadis and the eight cakras, with reference to sthula sarira, the gross body, the sukshma sarira, the subtle body, and the karana sarira, the causal body, increases the introspective penetration.

We will examine the locations of the nadis, their intersections and application to better the practice of asana, pranayama and savasana. We will also look into the locations, significance, color, shape, sound, etc. of the eight cakras and their application to the practice of asana, pranayama and savasana.

Over a period consistent application of these beginnings enable the aspirant to access the deeper recesses of the mind. With a better understanding of the challenges and the potential of the mind, the aspirant then finds a clearer path to enlightenment, the ultimate goal of yoga.

Also refer to:

Kosas, Sariras and Nadis
Cakras Chart
Cakras Notes

Back to Yogirama's Homepage